Archive for February 20th, 2011

Pepperfire Chicken

It was a gorgeous albeit windy day today–the kind of day to spend outside eating hot chicken. With groupons in tow, we crossed the river in typical circuitous Nashville fashion (I absolutely loathe the freeway layout here) to gorge ourselves on Pepperfire’s hot chicken wings. Each order comes with 6 jumbo wings. The counter lady told us it wasn’t as spicy as Prince’s, so we felt justified bravely ordering hot and xhot. After 15 minutes, our orders were ready. Immediately noticeable was a severe lack of chicken grease soaking through the bed of white bread. The chicken however, was still moist inside, cradled within a cocoon of crisp red spiced skin. Somehow, it just tasted healthier than Prince’s since I wasn’t seeing sopping puddles of grease beneath the chicken. Definitely felt less guilty chowing on the spice covered bread. And not because I needed to quell the fires within my guts. The spice mix was not overtly salty, and hot enough to establish a small burn, still allowing for the tongue’s taste buds to appreciate the flavor of the chicken itself, not of the fires/peppers. Reminds me of Korean fried chicken. Awesome. Will be back. Lay off the sides though. I thought the slaw was too sweet and mayo-sloshed, and the fried potato salad was also heavily mayo’d.

Pepperfire Chicken
East Nashville

My Life In One Blog

I'm going to start incorporating life events and fooding into this blog since I don't do much of either anymore. The hospital takes up most of my life now. This blog will possibly be slightly more interesting. Maybe.

February 2011
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28