Archive for February 2nd, 2011

NY Pie

Went to NY Pie over the weekend–initially on Saturday when we were pizza-blocked by a 45 minute wait (instead the three of us gorged on an awesome 50 chicken wings at Buffalo Wild Wings down the block), and later on Sunday when we developed the mental capacity to plan ahead and order our pizza ahead of time. I guess the buzz about this place involves it being a NY style pizza place. I’m really not a nerd about pizza; I know crust is important, as well as toppings, and that’s about it. The “chew” of the crust only factors in to my personal ratings if I happen to develop masticator fatigue or TMJ syndrome the next day.

We ordered a 14″ NY special (combo pizza) for two, which came out to 9 bucks a person. Not bad for pricing I guess, until I factor in the hassle factor of driving out to West Nashville. The crust was chewy, although I wish it had a little bit more crunch to balance out the texture in the thicker crust and dough. Toppings were plentiful and balanced between meat and vegetable. I think the pizza would’ve been better if I had eaten it right out of the oven, but the store is small with limited seating (and usually full). Oh well, it was still good, but not a destination pizza for me. I’m fine with the multitude of pizza options around Vanderbilt. At least West Nashville is now free from Costco’s steel vice on the pizza monopoly in that area (although Costco pizza is always a pretty awesome deal!).

On a side note, I must apologize for my crappy photos. Apparently my HTC Aria camera has a built in thin film of vaseline jelly meant to decrease contrast and color on all picture I take. I really need a better camera.

NY Pie
West Nashville

My Life In One Blog

I'm going to start incorporating life events and fooding into this blog since I don't do much of either anymore. The hospital takes up most of my life now. This blog will possibly be slightly more interesting. Maybe.

February 2011
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28