Trivia at Corner Bar

If there’s anything I’ve learned since entering medical school last year, it’s that not everyone in medical school is smart, and not everyone not in medical school is not smart. That sure was a lot of negatives, but what I’m trying to say is that there are a lot of people not in medical school who are smart, probably even smarter than people who will become doctors someday; it’s simply a matter of lifestyle and career choice that people choose to make. It feels so refreshing and invigorating having intelligent conversations with people not in medical school. I just wish I had/took the opportunity go meet people.

img_3203

This is only partly related to what I just said, but people who play trivia at Corner Bar are smart. Or just know a bunch of random shit that occurred before my time. And maybe paid attention in high school social science classes. My 5 in AP U.S. History should be stripped from me. But back to the task at hand: there are definitely a bunch of trivia gunners–maybe even snipers–who show up to Corner Bar every Monday at 8pm for trivia. It’s by far the most competitive trivia gathering that I know of in Nashville.

img_3201

The place is also pretty cool for a dive bar, with an eclectic crowd, an a really nice waitress (I will probably butchered her name because I’m retarded, so I won’t write it), and some decent food–by far one of the best bar food in the area. The menu isn’t very extensive, but sticking to the basics is a good thing for a place that doesn’t specialize in any sort of cuisine. There are burgers, fried foods of all sorts, and–wtf?–a gyro. The sides, though, are where it’s at: there’s a pretty good selection of diverse sides, fried and not fried, that are served in generous portions beside each entree. My favorite? Fried okra. Don’t know why, but I like fried and slimy together. Yes, I’m gross. What of it? You wanna fight?

Corner Bar at Elliston Place
2200 Elliston Pl
Nashville, TN
(615) 320-4979

0 Responses to “Trivia at Corner Bar”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




My Life In One Blog

I'm going to start incorporating life events and fooding into this blog since I don't do much of either anymore. The hospital takes up most of my life now. This blog will possibly be slightly more interesting. Maybe.

November 2008
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930